I am a BROKE College Student….Why do I need to sell a kidney so I can buy my science textbooks?!?!?!?!

So….today I finished the third day of the new Spring 2012 term at Medgar Evers College. I’m psyched, especially since this is my last full term of prereqs, only one class, Developmental Psychology left! On the other hand I am taking Organic Chemistry I, Microbiology 403, and the last section of Anatomy and Physiology, three sciences with labs, and SUPER challenging sciences at that! So basically, I can kiss any semblance of a social life goodbye until May 24 and will be renting a desk in the library for the duration! It’s only the third day and I can barely keep my eyes open to write this post!!!

So…once again I digress…(I think this sentence has shown up in every one of my posts!!!)…on to the main subject of this post. Can anyone give me some semblance of a logical reason for why textbooks for college science courses need you to donate organs to pay for??!!?? Usually, I rely on handy used book search engines and Amazon to score deeply discounted used textbooks. However, much to my chagrin when I looked up the ISBN for my Organic Chemistry text, the absolute cheapest available was $250.00!!!!! What’s wrong with this picture?!?!? It’s very common knowledge that being broke goes hand in hand with being a full-time college student. It’s the exception to come across a college student swimming in dough and almost always it’s their parents dough not theirs! I am going to college, like most others, in hopes to eventually make some money off this enormous investment of my time and money!

So, you ask what happened? Did I have to donate blood to pay for my Organic books??? Well, it turns out the Medgar Evers College bookstore has a special soft cover package of the same text packaged with the lab book as well for a measly $246.00. (Please note I write measly with the greatest degree of sarcasm available!) Pardon my vulgarity, but the bottom line is the publishers have college students by the cajones! What choice do we have? I need to read the book so I can get an A but I also resent having to pay that much to earn an A!

The scariest thing is that I bet the book probably costs McGraw Hill max $15.00 to print! That’s a VERY handsome profit! The publishers lack of pity for the college students’ pocketbook is beyond alarming!

So I am sure I am the millionth student to complain about the unfairness of this situation but have I, or you actually done anything about it besides bellyache? NO..and why pray tell is that??? Because the bottom line is there is not a d*mn thing any of us can do about it!!!

I am more than open to suggestions…does anybody have one?

Leave a Reply

